Spain sponsors Ecuador’s request for visa-free travel for its citizens in European Union countries

Jan 30, 2018 | 0 comments

Spain is following through on a promise to help Ecuadorian citizens enter and travel in European countries with only their passports. Currently, Ecuadorians are required to obtain a visa prior to entering the region.

President Lenin Moreno meeting Spanish Prime Minister Rajoy and King

In December, Spanish President Mariano Rajoy had promised Ecuador’s President Lenin Moreno that he would push for the change. If approved by the majority of EU members, Ecuadorians would join citizens and residents of other Latin American countries, including Peru and Colombia, in being able to enter 26 European countries, known as the Schengen zone, on only their passports.

Passport entry allows 90-day visitation rights.

“I want to thank President Rajoy for his steadfast support on this issue,” said Moreno. “We feel certain that his efforts will be successful, which will promote tourism and trade between our country and the EU.”

Countries that make up the Schengen zone are: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Slovenia, Spain, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Czech Republic, Slovak Republic, Sweden and Switzerland.


Dani News

Google ad

Quinta Maria News

The Cuenca Dispatch

Week of April 21

With the “Yes” vote on 9 of 11 questions, constitutional and legal reforms in the popular consultation head to the Assembly.

Read more

Correístas’ Plan: Impeaching Salazar Amidst Trial for Metastasis Case.

Read more

Everything you need to know about the regulations to apply euthanasia in Ecuador.

Read more

Thai Lotus News

Google ad

Fund Grace News

Country living News

Gran Colombia Suites News